Organizing for Nursing School

Nursing school starts TOMORROW!!! Ahhh!!! I’m so excited…and also somewhat nervous. We’ve already been given so many documents and a few assignments/quizzes due before classes start tomorrow, so I’ve been busy organizing and completing tasks this past week. I finally feel like I’m organized in such a manner as to lessen the stress of trying to keep on top of everything for nursing school; I thought I would share my tips and tricks. πŸ™‚ Hope it helps!

I will use a 1.5″ binder to bring to school everyday. On the outside I posted my semester schedule, and inside, I divided the binder into 8 sections. Β The first 3 sections are for loose leaf paper, my weekly schedule (I’ll go over that in more detail below), and all my class syllabi. The next 5 sections are utilized for each class, as I have pharm, health assessment, health assessment lab, concepts, and concepts lab/clinical.

IMG_2297

 

IMG_2285

 

IMG_2298

 

The purpose of this binder is mainly to take only one week’s worth of assignments/powerpoints/documents to school. After that week is complete, I will empty out all of the documents into bigger binders – one for pharm, one for both concepts & its respective lab, and one for both health assessment & its respective lab.

To keep track of assignments and tasks for each class, I bought a smaller 3-ring binder (on the right) and divided it into 5 sections – one for each class:

IMG_2299

IMG_2300

 

 

I love the fact that it’s divided, that way I know exactly what to do for certain classes. It’s just easier for me to keep track of everything this way…and it’s such a satisfying feeling I get when I’m able to cross something off the list!

I also make a “reading assignment” list in order to have a document that I can quickly look at and determine what chapters I need to read that week:

Blog 2

 

And my favorite part is my weekly schedule; my mentor at TWU and fellow nursing student gave me a template that she created to keep track of all of her separate schedules given to her by each class. Instead of having to rifle through each schedule every week in order to determine what is due, I made a week-by-week document with each of my classes on it and organized my schedule that way:

 

And there you have it! Now I’m off to finish printing documents and get some more reading done. πŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on “Organizing for Nursing School

  1. I’m starting my Social Work degree in September and am a little stressed about getting( and KEEPING) organized:) Thanks for this!

  2. This was very interesting to read, as I am about to start my final year of nursing school and can honestly say that I never felt organized enough. I’m not sure if that is due to the overwhelming amount of information in so many forms, or what. I’m typically a very organized person. As I’m about to start this last year I was hoping for some help on getting organized, which is how I stumbled on your blog. Wondering if you have any feedback on how it went now that you are done with the semester and starting the next one. Is there anythign that worked or didn’t work?

    • Hi Jennie!

      I would have to say that I absolutely loved the way I organized for last semester, and will be following that organizational direction again. The only thing I didn’t do much that I had originally blogged about was use that itty bitty binder to write assignments in. I ended up writing all assignments for the week down on one piece of paper, and then in a planner I assigned myself certain assignments to do on certain days. But otherwise everything else that I blogged about worked out really well! πŸ™‚

  3. Thank you sooooo much for this blog. I am definitely going to follow this system, I start nursing school in January and u can only imagine how excited I am.

    • Congrats to you!!!!! That way of organizing has really helped me out a lot. I’ve continued with that way through this semester (my second) and it has still been just as efficient for me. I will continue through the rest of nursing school as well. πŸ™‚ Let me know if you have any questions I can help you with!

Leave a Reply

