My First Week!

It was a whirlwind, but it was fun and I can’t believe it’s already over. I survived my first week of nursing school! Haha.

My very first class was assessment lecture. It was a lot of “introduction to the class” stuff, and then we covered vital signs and the 5 steps of the nursing process (assessment, diagnosis, planning, implementation, & evaluation – or ADPIE):

IMG_2325

So far I’m already behind in reading the chapters from my assessment textbook…but I’m (hopefully) going to get caught up on that today.

After turning in a whole bunch of forms and immunization information and buying a lock for the lockers, I wrapped up my first day by receiving my lab kit for assessment and concepts labs. As soon as I got home, which took me 1.5 hours in Dallas traffic, I tore into the lab kit like it was Christmas day. We received so many exciting things in our kits! A foley catheter, a wound care kit, sphygmomanometer (BP cuff), syringes, needles, a penlight, saline solution “medicine”, fake insulin, a tuning fork, and lots of gauze/tape/alcohol swabs, etc.

IMG_2306

Tuesday was a LONG day. We started the day off with a UNITE bagel breakfast (UNITE is our CON’s mentor/protege program) to get introductions out of the way between new students and their mentors. I looooooove my mentor. She’s awesome and we are SO alike; I can’t wait to get to know her better and learn some tips and tricks for surviving and making the best of nursing school.

After the bagel breakfast I had pharmacology, then lunch, and then concepts. Both were long classes with a lot more of the whole “welcome to this class and nursing school” introductions; I know already that I will love both classes. ESPECIALLY pharmacology. πŸ™‚ I am slightly worried about the fact that we have weekly quizzes in pharmacology at the end of each lecture – two questions each, with only 3-5 minutes to complete the quiz. At the end of the semester, we will end up having completed 20 questions that in total will be worth 20% of our class grade! Our quizzes in total are literally worth one test grade in pharm (as we have 4 tests and each are worth 20% as well). So, in order to prepare, I’ve been told to read the professor’s notes for the upcoming lecture and practically memorize them if possible. Eeek!

I have assessment lab (4 hrs) on Wednesdays, and concepts lab (6 hrs) on Fridays, and after my first labs this week I fell in love. The labs are going to be the best part of nursing school for me, easily! I love the hands on aspect and having the satisfaction of actually feeling like a nurse in those moments. And, in assessment lab, we actually have “charting” assignments on a simulation EHR program!

In assessment lab this week we learned how to take vital signs and complete a “general survey” and a pain assessment on a patient…aka, our partner. That was fun; thankfully we will have MANY more moments to practice taking blood pressure measurements, because that is not a skill that is easily learned! I came home and practiced on Steven a couple of times already, but I think I’m going to have to start doing it every single night if I am going to get any better at it – even though I learned it a year ago in my CNA course!

In concepts lab this week we learned how to give a bed bath, perform perineal care, make an occupied bed and an unoccupied bed, and put on and take off PPE (personal protective equipment). Because of my former CNA training I’ve done these things before, but it’s great going over it again and having time to practice these skills. I can’t wait to get in the hospital (about six weeks into the semester) and use these skills on actual patients!

IMG_2313

First time in our scrubs! πŸ™‚

IMG_2316

Learning to put on and take off PPE!

And, aside from a couple of assignments and lots of reading assigned to us already, that wrapped up my first week in nursing school. It’s still hard for me to wrap my head around the fact that I’m aΒ nursing student now. Wow!!

And, since today is MLK day and I have the day off, I’m going to do a lot of reading, get my pre-lab assignments done for assessments lab, and continue reviewing my “calculate with confidence” online course so that I can ROCK the drug calculations test in week 5! πŸ˜€

IMG_2310

I AM A NURSING STUDENT!!

4 thoughts on “My First Week!

  1. It’s so exciting reading about your first week! Trust me, the excitement does not dwindle as you move along. Nursing school is full of ups and downs, but no matter what each new semester, each new rotation, and each new patient brings with it a new level of excitement! Oh, and relax…we are ALL behind on the reading! I’m in third semester now and still haven’t figured out a way to keep up with it. It’s kind of the “normal” in nursing school to be a little behind. But, just keep plugging away and you’ll do great!

    • Oh, and since my name doesn’t work as a hyperlink feel free to follow this link to check out my blog sometime. Occasionally I allow myself to rant about the good, bad, and ugly of nursing school. πŸ™‚ I really should start posting some good resources as well since I have about a million of them at this point. http://tammylgardner.wordpress.com/

    • Thank you so much, Tammy! πŸ™‚ It thrills me to know that the excitement doesn’t dwindle. I will definitely start following your blog as you complete nursing school too! And thanks for the encouragement about reading πŸ˜‰

  2. Hi, I’m a student who aims to get into the nursing program at my college, i’m doing my prerequisites currently. What is it like being in a nursing program? I know that it must be hard, but is it fun? Are the other students nice and eager to learn or do they seem to not care like they do in my prerequisites? Do you have a job with your schooling as well? i work at subway and i already feel like i’m drowning in my work load. Do you have some tips for new students to help deal with the work load and their everyday life? Thanks! -Jesse

Leave a Reply

