Nursing School Thus Far

It’s hard.

I heard that over and over again before I started nursing school but I shrugged it off. I was used to taking 5, sometimes up to 7 classes at a time and making all A’s throughout the semester. I figured those who complained about nursing school were just not used to big workloads and/or didn’t study enough…etc. But WOW. I’m only taking 3 classes (with two labs) and I can only shake my head at times at the foolish naivety that I entertained about nursing school.

My first test is in less than a week!! To tell you the honest truth I haven’t begun studying for it yet. I feel so behind; I still feel like I’m trying to organize myself and keep everything straight. There’s just so much to read and look up, and pre-lab assignments, and reviewing clinical skills, and so on and so forth. Thankfully this test is in concepts; if it were pharmacology I would be hyperventilating right now.

Speaking of pharmacology – it’s certainly my favorite class, but most definitely the hardest. There’s SO MUCH to learn and memorize and just know. We’ve been going through study questions in class and in tutoring, and it only makes me realize how much we’ve learned in such a short amount of time and yet I know none of it. Eek!

But I am still SO thankful to be here. This is certainly not an opportunity that everyone gets, and I am so incredibly grateful for it! Now…if I can just get into a study routine that works for me…

A 1" stack of papers that I printed on Monday for THIS ONE WEEK of school. It's all powerpoints, EBP articles, additional readings/charts, and assignments. Whoo!

A 1″ stack of papers that I printed on Monday for THIS ONE WEEK of school. It’s all powerpoints, EBP articles, additional readings/charts, and assignments. Whoo!

An evidence based practice (EBP) article for concepts...

An evidence based practice (EBP) article for concepts…

A nursing student pretty much lives in the library.

A nursing student pretty much lives in the library.

2 thoughts on “Nursing School Thus Far

Leave a Reply

