Firefly Run 5K

I just signed Steven and I up for our first ever 5K!! I’m super excited about it; it’s the Firefly Run 5K in Plano, and it takes place at night with a bunch of LED lights illuminating the path.

What does this have to do with nursing, you ask?

Well, first of all, I believe that nurses should be role models of well-being and a healthy lifestyle – and while I need TONS of help with this area of my life, I am starting with baby steps and this is just the motivation I need in order to make exercise a normal routine in my everyday life. I probably won’t even be able to run the entire 5K, but there’s nothing wrong with walking it either. πŸ˜‰

Secondly, the run benefits Children’s Medical Center in Dallas! Of course I absolutely love this hospital and all the work that the doctors/nurses/techs/etc. do for children, and I’m so happy to be supporting them in yet another way. πŸ™‚

I’m PUMPED! Of course it’s less than 2 weeks away so I’m going to need to get on the treadmill NOW…but I can’t wait to complete it and then hopefully move on to many more 5Ks!

Leave a Reply

