Good and (Somewhat) Bad

*Good*

Head-to-toe assessment check off: I PASSED!

As I stated in my previous post, I felt pretty prepared for the check off and at that point was just ready to get it done. I arrived on campus around 1100 and  ran in to some classmates who had just finished their adult lab simulation. They said it was a blast, which makes me even more excited for it tomorrow!!

Anyway, around 1130 I entered the room that they had set aside for those who were waiting to take the check off, and my classmates and I chatted nervously as we waited for the first of us to be called up. We didn’t have to wait long! About ten minutes later both instructors came in and called four of us, and of course I was one of those four. But I was ready!

I was able to go first (as in be the first one to assess) which I was very thankful for. I didn’t want to have to sit and wait through my partner’s assessment on me before doing it myself. So I went ahead and gathered my supplies, cleaned my stethoscope, washed my hands, took a DEEP breath, and told my instructor that I was ready.

It took me less than 30 minutes to complete my full assessment, and I only forgot to palpate the frontal and maxillary sinuses! (And I had time to go back and complete that, which meant that I got points for it!)

I couldn’t finish all the documentation within the allotted 15 minutes, but I sure did try. But then again, every single classmate I talked to said they weren’t able to complete the documentation either. But on my way out, my instructor said that I did a very, very good job and that she was very impressed with me. 🙂 Score!!

So SO SOOOO happy that I’m done with that assessment check off! And so thankful that Steven allowed me to practice on him every single night for a week straight. He’s such an awesome husband. 😉

*Bad*

I found out yesterday that I am definitely not in the clinical group that will be going to the VA next semester. 😦 I’m pretty disappointed but not super crushed; I’m choosing to believe that there’s a reason that I’m not at the VA next semester and I’m hoping that I will learn just as much, if not more, at a different hospital that I’ll be at next semester; and maybe it will be an even better fit for me than the VA would have been. And no, I don’t know yet where my clinicals will be – wish I did!!

Leave a Reply

