Job Update

Wow, what a week it has been! I started my PCT job on Monday – except that it isn’t necessarily my “job” yet since all week has been orientation to the hospital, paperwork, and completing computer modules. Today was actually the first time I stepped foot onto my unit, except that it was only to complete more paperwork, receive my locker key, and get my schedule. And then I stayed on the unit, plopped down at a computer desk, and did MORE modules. πŸ™‚ But at least I got them all done today so that I can begin the next phase of work next week – orientation to the unit!

I met my PCT preceptor today as well and I liked her immediately. I will work with her for the next two weeks as I orient to my new job on the unit, and then after that I will be by myself and will be expected to take care of 12 or so patients. My schedule up until August is a mixture of days and nights, so that will prove to be interesting I’m sure.

Anyway, just wanted to give a brief update on what’s been going on with the job. It will be nice when I can actually get started in the role that I was hired to do!

 

4 thoughts on “Job Update

  1. 12 patients would be a dream! I too recently started as a PCT and I have to say, it is the HARDEST job I have ever had. I am enjoying it and I am loving getting to know my co-workers, but I honestly don’t know how people do this job for a living year after year. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, which is why I do it. Well, that & for the resume experience, but dangit it is one HARD job. Can’t wait to hear how you’re liking it.

    • Haha I agree!!! I didn’t realize that being a tech was so hard. It is rewarding though, and I am loving it so far. My floor is great and all the nurses are really being welcoming and take me aside every now and then to give me “tips and tricks” about nursing because they know I”m in nursing school. Love it!

  2. Wow. I think I just read every single one of your blog entries. I’m considering goi g to nursing school and reading your blog has eased some of my fears. Please keep posting!

    • Awww thank you!! Nursing school has been stressful but also so so so worth it. I just can’t wait until I’m graduated and have a job as a nurse. πŸ˜‰ All in due time! And yes I will keep posting whenever I can!

Leave a Reply

