It’s Saturday

It’s Saturday which means I have a little (little!) time to relax and breathe this morning before getting back to it. This past week was busy, but awesome and I’m feeling less stressed and much more thankful that I have the opportunity to be in nursing school and heading towards my BSN. I just needed a little perspective to push me back on the right track!

Monday – I worked and was floated to the medical ICU to sit with a patient on suicide precautions. It was heartbreaking to say the least but while I was sitting with the patient – who was mostly sleeping on and off – it gave me some time to think about why I want to be a nurse, what kind of nurse I want to be, and what kind of patient population I want to work with. It helped clear my mind of the stress and re-focus me on my goals and mission in life, and when I went home I felt ready to tackle this week. And later, I’ll make a post about my thoughts during sitting (but no time now!).

Tuesday – AWESOME! I was at school all day for a skills lab/breastfeeding lecture. The skills labs were in the morning, and we learned how to assess a newborn and a postpartum woman, start IVs, we practiced (again) putting in foley catheters (but this time in a female), and then we learned how to hang IV fluids and piggy backs. We also learned how to calculate IV drip rates and calculations. Too great for words! I guess I am a very very hands on, technical person…and it all just thrilled me. Also, I’ve noticed that J2 seems to be so much more laid back as far as the nursing skills go than my J1 semester. The professors want us to do it correctly, true, but there’s not so much pressure about doing it in the lab since they know we’ll be doing it on the floor and they’ll be there to talk us through it.

And then we had our breastfeeding/latch lecture after lunch, and I’ll just say one thing about it: I had NO IDEA there was such an art to getting a babe to breastfeed and doing it correctly! The end. (Also…it’s really hard to watch videos/talk about babies for 3 hours and then not go home wanting one so badly that you DREAM about having babies. Uh-oh.)

Wednesday – We had Adult 1 lecture in the morning, and Women’s lecture in the afternoon. I studied afterward in the library for a couple of hours before going to work, and in the process of studying I had to watch a video on Aging for my Aging class…and it made me cry. Right there in the library! I am learning as I work and as I progress through nursing school that I ABSOLUTELY LOVE older/elderly adults.

Thursday – But, as much as I love older adults, I love children and babies too!! Always have, always will. I’m just not sure yet if I could be a pediatric nurse. But I do enjoy going to Children’s to volunteer, which I did this Thursday morning (first time in a month because life has been so busy!) and for the first 2 hours I had the privilege of rocking a 22-week-old to sleep and cuddling with them as they slept in my arms. Heaven! There are a lot of cons in my mind towards becoming a pediatric nurse, though, so at this point in time I don’t foresee it in my future. I’ll get into that list at a later date…

Then, after volunteering, I went over to a classmate’s house so we could finish up on an assignment that was due Friday by 1700. We finished rather quickly, joked around for a bit, and then I stopped by Walgreens on my way home to get my Flu shot. Crazy that my doctor’s office didn’t have them in yet! But we’re required to have them by the 13th or else we’re dropped from our clinical classes, and I didn’t want to chance it so I just got it done. I think the pharmacist went to high up on my arm though, because when he stuck me it HURT! And then it was sore for the rest of the evening as I worked on a bunchΒ of practice problems for IV calculations and then read a bit (but not as much as I would’ve liked).

Friday – I finished up with some discussion board posts, and then literally spent the rest of the day doing MORE IV calculations, until the hubby came home and we decided on pizza and a movie for our evening entertainment. I was so tired of sitting at my desk working on math that I didn’t even care that I was throwing the evening away to watch a movie. Which was FANTASTIC, by the way – we watched “Now You See Me” and I loved every second of it. Definitely would watch it again and again, although since it’s a movie about magic once you’ve seen the ending it can never be the same.

And now it’s Saturday morning and I have a ton of work to get done this weekend before I go to work Sunday night. Crossing my fingers that I can get a majority of it done!

I always try to not let my posts get too wordy, and then I look at what I’ve written and realize that I’ve done just that. Oh well…if you read all of it then kudos to you! If not…that’s quite alright. I’ll leave you with some pictures of the past two weeks. πŸ™‚

This was taken during week 1, when we were all learning in our Women's class how to provide support to laboring moms through giving back massages! So of course we all had to practice. ;)

This was taken during week 1, when we were all learning in our Women’s class how to provide support to laboring moms through giving back massages! So of course we all had to practice. πŸ˜‰

Learning about ABGs (arterial blood gases) during week 1. Loved it!!!

Learning about ABGs (arterial blood gases) during week 1. Loved it!!!

We received our J2 skills bags during week 1. It's a pile of loot - I should have organized the equipment though before our skills day on Tuesday because I was literally dumping the bag on the floor to find some of the stuff we needed to start IVs!

We received our J2 skills bags during week 1. It’s a pile of loot – I should have organized the equipment though before our skills day on Tuesday because I was literally dumping the bag on the floor to find some of the stuff we needed to start IVs!

I threatened to use this on the hubby (he didn't realize I didn't have the angio catheter in order to ACTUALLY start the IV) and he freaked out.

I threatened to use this on the hubby (he didn’t realize I didn’t have the angio catheter in order to ACTUALLY start the IV) and he freaked out.
Driving home after one of my class days during week 1. I looked good for the first week - you probably won't catch me looking like this again. No time!!

Driving home after one of my class days during week 1. I looked good for the first week – you probably won’t catch me looking like this again. No time!!

 

Driving home from work on Monday, stuck in a traffic jam - on LABOR DAY! I was pretty upset. It took me 1.5 hours to get home. Oh well...the perks of working where you want to work.

Driving home from work on Monday, stuck in a traffic jam – on LABOR DAY! I was pretty upset. It took me 1.5 hours to get home. Oh well…the perks of working where you want to work.

Setting up for my IV start during skills lab. :))

Setting up for my IV start during skills lab. :))

My first IV start!! It doesn't matter that it was on a mannequin arm. ;)

My first IV start!! It doesn’t matter that it was on a mannequin arm. πŸ˜‰

Learning to set up and hang IV solutions and piggy backs. I love all this stuff!!

Learning to set up and hang IV solutions and piggy backs. I love all this stuff!!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s Saturday

  1. I just found your blog through another nursing blog that I follow…I’m excited to keep reading about your nursing school journey! your program seems so hands on and great! mine was definitely not as much, but once i graduated I was thrown right in and you pick it up quick! I absolutely LOVE being a nurse (now nurse practitioner!)…sounds like you’re going to as well!

    • Thanks for reading!! πŸ™‚

      Yes I love my nursing program but I’d have to say I’m SUPER eager at this point to just graduate and become a nurse. πŸ˜‰ My ultimate goal is to become a nurse practitioner as well!! Glad you can say that after all this time you are still loving it; so far I’ve run into plenty of nurses who have already become jaded and I never want that to be me. It’s refreshing to hear you say that you absolutely love it! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

