Just…Ok?

Before I started nursing school, I didn’t think there was any way I could ever NOT want to be in nursing school. I was just so ready to be IN nursing school that I didn’t acknowledge that the reality would someday mean that I was sick and tired and ready to be done.

Don’t get me wrong; I really enjoy learning and increasing my nursing knowledge. I also realize that the learning is going to happen for the rest of my life.

However, nursing school is exhausting. Taking 16 credit hours of intense nursing courses in one semester is exhausting. Knowing that I still have this semester and then two more after that is exhausting. Knowing that this semester is supposed to be the easiest semester is exhausting.

I can’t help anymore but to constantly look forward to that day when I  graduate and all my hard work will have paid off in the form of a beautiful piece of paper. I can’t wait until I can take the boards and become a registered nurse. I can’t wait until I am actually putting all of this nursing school theory into actual practice with my very own patients.

Until then…I leave you with pictures of my week.

This week two clinical groups came together for orientation at Denton Presbyterian for our skills check-offs and our hospital orientation. Skills checked-off: NG tube insertion and care; tracheostomy care, central line dressing change, nasopharyngeal and trach suctioning, ostomies.

This week two clinical groups came together at Denton Presbyterian for our skills check-offs and our hospital orientation. Skills that we were checked-off on: NG tube insertion and care; tracheostomy care, central line dressing change, nasopharyngeal and trach suctioning, ostomies.

Partners in crime, part 1.

Partners in crime, part 1.

Partners in crime, part 2.

Partners in crime, part 2.

Applying tegaderm during my central line dressing change.

Applying tegaderm during my central line dressing change.

Partners in crime, part 3. This is my clinical group for adult this semester. :)

Partners in crime, part 3. This is my clinical group for adult this semester. 🙂

After only 3 weeks of school, my 3" binder is almost completely full. This is how you know a test is coming up! Lol.

After only 3 weeks of school, my 3″ binder is almost completely full. This is how you know a test is coming up! Lol.

This is what I did at work during some down time in the night. Study!

This is what I did at work during some down time in the night. Study!

I can't get enough chocolate lately...it's SO horrible. :(

I can’t get enough chocolate lately…it’s SO horrible. 😦

4 thoughts on “Just…Ok?

  1. Amber, take it from someone who’s been there… 3 separate times. It’s worth it, I promise. Take the good with the bad. Jump through the hoops. Walk the line. Step when they tell you to step.
    Follow the rules that have been set in place, but don’t be blind enough to not ask the question why. Don’t let the nay-sayers and burnt-out harpies put out that fire in your belly.
    At the end of that reaaallly long tunnel is everything you’re working for. Hang in there.

    • Thank you SO much, Sean. Your words really encouraged me when I was struggling to study for my first test this semester and keep everything together – balanced and organized. 🙂 I appreciate you reminding me to keep up the good fight!!

  2. Girl, nursing school is rough. I still have nightmares that I’ve forgotten to go to clinical or that I have a test today that I didn’t know about. But I promise you, it gets better. Senior 1 is rough yeah, you’ve heard that a million times before, but it will go by like a blur and next thing you know, you’ll be a SENIOR IN NURSING SCHOOL. Nothing feels better than that. Okay, I lied, graduation feels better. And it WILL be here sooner than you know. If I could give you any piece of advice it would be this: take time for yourself, your family, your friends. Take time for what YOU love. Don’t worry about getting a 4.0 if it means ruining the rest of your life, or being miserable for the next year and a half. Coming from a girl who graduated with a 3.4, I wouldn’t change a thing. 🙂 Take care of your friendships. Your body. Your mind. Your spirit. Study hard, yes. But don’t miss out on the rest of life! It might make things a little more tolerable. AND YOU CAN DO IT!!!!

    • Awww Candace how right you are!!! It’s hard to remember that I still need to make time for myself and my family when I feel like I have to be perfect in nursing school. (Not that I am…but that pressure is still there.) Thanks for encouraging me.
      And I cannot WAIT until I am a senior and that much closer to graduation!!!!

Leave a Reply

