My Week in a Nutshell

As per my usual…today’s Saturday so I’m updating. I don’t mean to only post once a week, but this week has been absolutely hectic and even though I wanted to post on Tuesday evening about my OB clinical, I was just too tired and instead sat in front of the TV for the evening. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Not a good idea, mind you, but awesome nonetheless.

My week in a quick nutshell:

Saturday & Sunday: spent the time completing my first research assignment, which took almost all day on Saturday; two quizzes; a discussion board post with 2 replies to other posts; and my OB pre-clinical paperwork (which took FOREVER!).

Monday: worked a 12 hour shift, then came home and ate a quick dinner, made sure I was ready for my first OB clinical the next day, and went to bed (around 2145).

Tuesday: got up at 0345 for my first OB clinical at Parkland!! AND IT WAS AWESOME! (Details to come in my next post.) We were there until 1700, and then began the long trek home with all of us carpoolers. I didn’t get home until 1830. And as I said before, I didn’t do anything that night besides watch some mindless TV and veg.

Wednesday: got up late for class because I really wanted the extra sleep – even if it meant getting to school later than usual, not having a place to park, and having to rush to print the day’s lecture powerpoints. Was at school from 0800-1800, and then went to work from 1900-2300. Came home and collapsed in bed.

Thursday: woke up and rolled out of bed around 0600 in order to be at a friend/classmate’s house by 0700 – so we could carpool together to THR Denton and give flu shots in their employee health fair!! It was SUCH GREAT EXPERIENCE!! I probably gave upwards of 30-35 IM shots that morning. I even gave a shot to a PCT there who happened to be in nursing school as well…and she told me that she was a seniorย 2ย at UTA and STILL HAD NOT GIVEN AN IM SHOT! Woah. Then my classmate and I stayed afterward to pick out our patient for the next morning’s Adult 1 clinical. Came home afterward and did all my pre-clinical paperwork (took about 3 hours), and then watched the 2-hour season premiere of Grey’s Anatomy. So glad it’s back on!!! (And afterward went to bed, of course. Too tired to do anything else that night!)

Friday: Got up around 0400 for Adult 1 clinical. Clinical was great; albeit a bit slow, attended post-conference, and headed home. Arrived home around 1600, realized I was locked out of my house, and sat on my front porch for an hour waiting for the hubby to get home. And then around 1900 met up with 7 other classmates so we could all go out to dinner and freak ourselves out at a haunted house. It was my first haunted house ever and I had a blast!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Unfortunately we were out until 0100 in the morning and by the time I got home it was a little past 0200.

This morning: The hubby woke me up around 0800 so we could go get breakfast together since we’ve not seen each other hardly at all this week and he has to work today. I am so sleep deprived that I was barely able to pull myself together and keep my eyes open during breakfast. We stopped at Starbucks on the way home and I got myself more coffee – a cinnamon dulce latte (my fav) – and I proceeded to try not to fall asleep again once we got back home as he was getting ready for work. And I’m pretty sure I did dose off there for a couple of minutes…but then finished my coffee and I’m feeling MUCH MORE AWAKE NOW.

Unfortunately, last week since my life turned into a whirlwind of pre- and post-clinical paperwork, clinicals, work, and classes, I did not do any studying or reading for anything. And I have my first OB test next week on Wednesday! So, here’s what I have to do today:

  • Complete my Research quiz
  • Complete my Aging quiz
  • Finish all the Parkland modules
  • STUDY FOR MY WOMEN’S TEST

I have to work tomorrow, and I have school for half of the day on Monday, so that really only leaves the rest of today and all of Tuesday to hopefully cram as much OB in my head as I can for the test. I’m crossing my fingers that I can pull it off.

And to everybody reading this, my one piece of advice is….

LEARN HOW TO MANAGE YOUR TIME NOW. AND DO NOT PROCRASTINATE!!!

Wish me luck on this test! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

