Countdown Begins

2 weeks to go until the start of my S1 semester! As much as part of me is terrified of the upcoming semester, I am also feeling the first quivers of excitement and eagerness. A new start of the semester has always been one of my favorite events. It’s always fun for me to learn what the upcoming semester holds and to know that I will come out on the other side more knowledgeable and that much closer to being done.

Everyone at work keeps asking me how much longer I have before I’m graduated. I guess it’s an awesome feeling, but then again at the same time I don’t know if they’re asking because they’re tired of my haphazard schedule (due to school) or if they think I’d be a great addition to their nursing family. I often wonder if they are trying to imagine me as a nurse on their team and how I’m standing up to their expectations. And then I often wonder myself whether or not I would accept a job on my unit if I was offered one. I enjoy my unit and the nurses I work with, and I feel a deep loyalty to my boss and my supervisor (who are so willing to work around my school schedule) that I think it’d be hard to turn down an offer (should I get one). But at the same time I have to make sure it is something I want to do and will be happy with, especially because I really feel that I’d enjoy the ED. But I really need to get some more ED experience first!!

And speaking of haphazard schedule, here’s my schedule for the upcoming semester. It’s a doozy!

  • Mondays: Children’s Health Lecture from 0800-1100. Then volunteering at Children’s Medical Center from 1300-1700.
  • Tuesdays: Adult Health 2 Lecture from 0900-1200. And then Mental Health lecture from 1300-1600.
  • Wednesdays: Mental Health Clinical from 0800-1430.
  • Thursdays: Adult Health 2 Clinical from 0645-1400.
  • Fridays: Child Health Clinical from 0600-1600. Then work (as a desk secretary) from 1900-2300.
  • Saturdays: work from 1900-2300.
  • Sundays: My day off!! (And I’m sure it’ll be a hardcore study day!)

And somewhere in that schedule I will be tutoring the Concepts class for a two-hour period in the evening…I just haven’t worked that out with the peer tutor coordinator yet so I’m not sure when that will be. I’m assuming it’ll occur on either Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday evenings.

So that’s my upcoming semester. It sounds pretty cut and dry on paper but I’m afraid it won’t be once we’re in the thick of things!

This week in the countdown I will be attempting to become as organized as possible for my next semester. I need to clean out my office, organize my documents for the nursing student association, make sure my home documents are all filed, and yada yada yada…and then next week I will be teaching CPR classes Monday-Thursday, working from 1900-2300 those same nights, and then hopefully enjoying my Friday-Sunday with friends and family. And then S1 SEMESTER BEGINS!

Only two more weeks!

One thought on “Countdown Begins

  1. Great job! I enjoyed reading your detailed updates. I was a PCT for two years in nursing school, too. I often wondered the same thing about my co-worker nurses. I have to say, any job is a great job when you’re first starting out ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

