An S1 Update

North Texas weather has been so fickle! Yesterday it was in the 80s. Today, in the 20s with freezing rain. As a result, delayed opening for school tomorrow – until noon. As a result of that: no child health class (because it’s from 0800-1100) which means I get a whole day off to study for my 2nd adult health exam on Tuesday morning! YAY!

So I haven’t updated in awhile…but these past few weeks have been SO insane! I’m constantly going somewhere and doing something, which doesn’t give me much time to get any studying done. So any extra time I have I’m either studying or taking a break. Most likely taking a break. πŸ˜‰

But in the midst of this crazy semester, I have learned one thing for sure. I have learned where my nursing passion lies. I have had that “AHA!” moment where I felt a pull towards the area that I want to do nursing in. Any guesses???

If you guessed the ICU, you were correct!! I have come to find out that I am SO passionate about this field of nursing that I just cannot wait for my next clinical day in the ICU. I excitedly look forward to being there and learning new things, taking care of the sickest of the sick. I am loving learning about the critical care content in lecture that we’re being tested over on Tuesday…ABGs, ventilators, shock, hemodynamic monitoring, etc. I feel like I just can’t get enough. I feel like I have been re-awakened and no longer am I just trying to “survive.” Now I feel like I have something I’m striving towards again.

I just have to make it through the next 10 weeks and I’ll be done with this, the hardest of semesters. And then next semester, I get to start applying for my dream job – the ICU!

One thought on “An S1 Update

  1. Way to go! The least I could do whilst reading your blog and venturing into your thoughts is leave a reply! …. Although I was actually hoping when my phone rang an alert that school would be closed for the entire day tomorrow to get me out of taking that assessment test- and so I could study more for pharm on Tuesday! Glad you found something you like!
    M

Leave a Reply

