The Terrible, Horrible, No Good Day

Yesterday was super duper rough.

I’m not saying I haven’t had other terrible days, and I’m not even saying that this was anywhere near the worst day I’ve ever had (or even have had this semester of nursing school!), however I feel the need to vent about yesterday, so I shall.

The day started off with a three-hour last-minute study session with my partner in crime before our second Adult 2 test. And I walked out of that test feeling like I’d been pummeled by a professional boxer who had a vendetta against me. While I was definitely hoping for a B, I wanted at least a mid-to-high B that way my average (the 76% I had from the first test) could have been brought up some. Well, I made an 82%. Better, for sure, but still not a decent grade compared to the effort that I put into this test and the confidence that I had walking in. And still not enough to pull my grade out of the “C” range. Β I shouldn’t be disappointed, especially when I’m not failing and I’m barely on the line between a C and a B and can easily pull myself up with the next three tests (3rd exam, HESI, and final). However, I just don’t understand how a course that I love the material SO MUCH can be the one that I’m doing the worst in. I’m not exaggerating when I say that I seriously have never taken a test that hard before. And I almost stayed until the last possible minute finishing up, when I’m usually out with PLENTY of time to spare!

So that was a bummer. But an even bigger bummer and one that really puts my issues in perspective (the perspective that I don’t have it that bad at all) is the fact that one of my closest nursing school buddies is currently failing Adult 2. Both of her tests now have been below the passing grade of a 72% which means that if she definitely doesn’t pull her grade up then she’ll have to re-take the class and she’ll no longer be graduating with us. That’s such a hard concept to think about because we have been friends since day one and there was never a thought in our mind that we wouldn’t be graduating together. And there’s no reason (that we see) that she’s not getting better grades – she’s always done well in classes and she DEFINITELY knows the material. So the fact that she’s failing is just mind boggling, for both of us. I swear this class is so so so much harder than any we’ve ever taken before, even in nursing school. We’ve decided that we’re going to get together the weekend before the tests now and go over TONS of practice questions. We have to do better!

Then to top everything off, our mental health lecture yesterday covered addictions – alcoholism in particular. And because of my family issues with alcoholism, it was a tough lecture to stomach and I actually had to leave at some point because I felt like if I didn’t then I’d just start bawling right there in class and make a fool of myself. This was the lecture that I’d been dreading all semester, and it certainly came at the wrong time. I eventually went back into the classroom but I have to admit that I’m not sure I really heard much of the lecture at all. As soon as we were released I realized that all I wanted to do was go home and curl up in bed, wishing the day away and in fact this entire semester.

How much longer until I’m done, again? Will I ever be done??

 

5 thoughts on “The Terrible, Horrible, No Good Day

  1. Many in my class are feeling the exact same about our pediatrics class. =/ People who consistently made A’s and never even considered the possibility that they wouldn’t pass or make it to May 7th (our pinning ceremony) — are doubting themselves. Myself, included. Keep doing those practice questions and know you all are not alone. Keep it up and good luck to your friend. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh girl I would give you a hug right now if I could. Reading this was just a flood of terrible memories haha. Although, ironically, as much as I LOVED peds, I did much worse on my peds tests then my adult tests! I actually did good on adult which I was half as interested in. (And now I’m a NICU nurse and LOVE IT). Just goes to show that tests aren’t really a great predictor of much of anything.

    Just now this. You is smaaaaart, you is kiiiiiind, you is importaaaaaant! πŸ™‚ and you are going to be an amazing amazing (Adult ICU) nurse.

    Best news: this semester is practically almost over. You got this. -HUGS-

    • Candace you have no idea how reading those words brought a smile to my face and heart. I needed to hear it and I appreciate you saying it very much! It’s so encouraging to hear that I’m not the only one does bad on the subject area that they’re interested it. Thank you so much girl!! Hope you’re doing well. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

