First Interview Thoughts

Well I thought I’d update y’all on how my very first GN nursing interview went! It’s been SUCH a long week but it’s behind me now and I’m about to start the 4th week of my last semester. HOLY COW!

My interview was last Tuesday for an ER position. I interviewed with two other candidates – which was WEIRD but I actually ended up loving the chance to hear their answers for my future interviews. They were both very smooth and confident with their responses to the questions. I, on the other hand, felt like a bumbling idiot trying to scramble for the words to express what my mind was thinking. It wasn’t pretty. AND, to top it off, before the interview I put on the outfit I was originally going to wear and although the pants fit and the jacket (sort of) fit, the shirt I was thinking of was HUGE on me. It was a tunic! I didn’t really have anything else I liked better but I found a cotton shirt and told myself at least I’d be wearing a jacket over it. Which my hubby told me later looked awful. 😦

So I don’t think I did that well. We were told when we entered the interview room that to make the interview a smooth process we would each take turns answering the questions that were asked of us, with us rotating through who would answer first each time. We were only asked 4 questions before our half-hour was over: “Tell us about yourself”; “What made you choose the nursing profession?”; “Tell us about a clinical mistake you’ve made that has impacted you”; “Why should we pick YOU for this position?”. I feel like if they were to choose out of the three of us, the other two candidates would DEFINITELY be at the top of the list. But hey, I feel like it was a great practice interview…a great one to get the nerves out of my system. AND I learned that I did NOT like my interview outfit, so I fixed that today by buying a new one! And it’s HOT! 😉 We were told that we’d know in about 3 weeks if we were chosen for a 2nd interview. I don’t think I will be, but hey who knows.

But that evening after coming home everything was made better by the fact that I checked my work email and got an email from my boss telling me that the position had been posted for my floor and she was asking me to go apply! If that didn’t make me feel loved at work I’m pretty sure nothing would. I applied right away, of course, and when I checked my application status a couple of days ago I noticed that it said “Interview to be Scheduled.” Sweet!!! I know now that I will SO take that position if offered to me. Crossing my fingers!

I have two interviews scheduled for next week, one for the PCU and the other for a Cardiac Step-Down unit. I really am using these as practice as well since I know that I want to remain on my floor now…but for some reason I’m still nervous about the interviews? Eek. This whole “trying to find a big girl job” thing is nerve-wracking.

I’ll post more later about my first school nursing clinical and my first shifts in the ED at the VA! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “First Interview Thoughts

  1. Once again… You are the poster child for how a student nurse should be. Absolutely amazing attitude to have when tackling that first job and multiple interviews. Such a positive outlook and a “no-quit’ mindset. Whomever hires you is getting quite the steal. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

