Graduate Nurse Portfolio

I’m going to apologize now for the quality of these pictures but I only have an iPhone and I was in a hurry when I took them (about to go to my first interview) so you get what you get. 🙂 Anyway, I wanted to write a post on how I put together my nursing student portfolio to take to my interviews; also if you click on the picture of my resume and enlarge it, you can see how I set my resume up. I hope it helps some of you out the way that this knowledge passed down to me did!

I bought 15 leatherette 1″ binders with the intention of taking approximately 3-5 to each interview to give to those interviewing me. In reality I took 5 to each interview but only gave one away each time because they didn’t want to keep my beautiful handiwork! LOL!

So, for your portfolios you’ll need 3 things: a nice presentation binder, resume paper, and sheet protectors. These are what I used:

  • INFUSE Premium Leatherette 1″ Presentation Binder, Black
  • Avery Recycled Economy Weight Sheet Protectors
  • Southworth Exceptional Resume Paper, 100% cotton, 24lb, Ivory

Depending on which hospitals you apply at and what they require with your application/interviews, you’ll want to have these documents ready to go (the order they are listed in is the order that I put them in my portfolio):

  • Exemplar (if your hospital requires you to write one…it’s usually a 1-page essay)
  • Cover Letter
  • Resume
  • References
  • Certifications
  • Awards
  • Letters of Recommendation. I started asking for these through the summer; I’d recommend asking your professors to start writing them about two months before you’ll need them! If possible, ask them to give them to you electronically that way you can print several copies of them for your portfolios. You’ll probably want around 3-5 LOR; all from current/previous managers (if applicable) and your clinical instructors. Hospitals will specify if they want more and if they want them to come from specific individuals.
  • Unofficial transcript
  • Immunization record (I just printed mine off from my school records)
  • Extras: if you want, you could probably put in any publications that you’ve had, a list of organizations that you belong to, etc. But remember you don’t want your portfolio too long or convoluted!

Please also keep in mind that you want everything printed on the same resume paper, and in the same font & format. Please note how my layout is practically the same on every page. You do NOT want to put “titles” on your resume, cover letter, and your letters of recommendation (what I mean by this is putting the word “resume”  on your resume; they will know its your resume when they start reading over it!).

Pg 1 of my graduate nurse portfolio: order of contents

Pg 1 of my graduate nurse portfolio: order of contents

Up close and personal: order of contents

Up close and personal: order of contents

Pg 2 & 3: exemplar & cover letter

Pg 2 & 3: exemplar & cover letter

Pg 4 & 5: resume

Pg 4 & 5: resume

pg 6 & 7: references & certifications

Pg 6 & 7: references & certifications

Pg 8 & 9: awards

Pg 8 & 9: awards

Pg 9 & 10: awards

Pg 9 & 10: awards continued

Pg 11 & 12: LOR

Pg 11 & 12: LOR

Pg 12 & 13: LOR

Pg 12 & 13: LOR

Pg 14 & 15: unofficial transcript

Pg 14 & 15: unofficial transcript

Pg 16 & 17: unofficial transcript continued

Pg 16 & 17: unofficial transcript continued

Pg 18: student health immunization records

Pg 18: student health immunization records

 

What I wore:

  • Hair brushed, combed back into a neat ponytail
  • Stud diamond earrings (only 1 pair!)
  • 1″ non-flashy black heels
  • Grey slacks
  • Black blazer
  • Bright pink/black/grey/purple sleeveless top underneath the blazer for a pop of color
  • Black leather nondescript purse
  • VERY minimal makeup; light mascara & eyeshadow with face powder & concealer
I forgot to take a picture when I was actually WEARING the outfit; but this gives you at least an idea of what it looked like! ;)

I forgot to take a picture when I was actually WEARING the outfit; but this gives you at least an idea of what it looked like! 😉

 

And there you have it! This is my graduate nurse portfolio and I must say I am very proud of it! Hopefully next week I’ll type up a post about the types of questions I was asked as well as which ones I asked myself. 🙂

One thought on “Graduate Nurse Portfolio

Leave a Reply

